The Game Haus
NHL Sports

The Tampa Bay Lightning Won the Presidents’ Trophy

The Tampa Bay Lightning won the Presidents’ Trophy, given to the team with the best regular season record,  for the first time in their franchise history. Last night they clinched the award by beating the Arizona Coyotes 4-1 at Amalie Arena.

During the game, Steven Stamkos scored his 384th career goal to become the Lightning all-time leading goal-scorer. Stamkos scored the goal at 6:54 of the first period after redirecting a shot from Ryan McDonagh.  He surpassed Vincent Lecavalier franchise record in 737 games. It took Lecavalier 1,037 games to score 383 goals for the Lightning. A tribute video and standing ovation sparked an emotional moment for Stamkos and the Lightning.

Winning the Presidents’ Trophy means that the Lightning clinched the Atlantic Division and Eastern Conference. In the playoffs, they will play the second wild card in the first round of the Eastern Conference.

The Lightning became the second-fastest team in NHL history to clinch the Presidents’ Trophy. The 1995-1996 Detroit Red Wings still holds the record for clinching the trophy in 71 games.

A lot of people are expecting the Lightning to win the Stanley Cup. There is no doubt that they are top contenders. In the last four years, they reached the Eastern Conference finals three times, including one Stanley Cup Final appearance. They were so close to lifting the Stanley Cup in these past four years. Winning the Presidents’ Trophy puts extra pressure and motivation to win it all.


You can “Like” The Game Haus on Facebook and “Follow” us on Twitter for more sports and esports articles from other great TGH writers along with Anthony!

“From Our Haus to Yours”

Related posts

AL Playoffs Feature No Front-Runner

Tim Miller

The Lists: Week 10 Edition

The Game Haus Staff

Kobe Bryant Ranked 93rd

Joe DiTullio

Thanks for reading! Let us know what your thoughts are on the article!

Share This