The Game Haus
Columns NFL Sports

NFL Mid-Season Awards

The NFL season is flying by and mid-season of the NFL is already here. Week nine has now passed and it is time to discuss which players are having the best season and who would win the awards if the season ended today. This 2016 NFL season has seen a ton of great performances and crazy games. As is the case in every season, there have been upsets and surprises. So much more can happen this season and we are in for a great finish. There are eight weeks remaining in the season. A lot can change, but here are all the NFL mid-season awards.

Coach of the Year: Mike Zimmer- Minnesota Vikings


There is little debate on who should be the coach of the year. What Mike Zimmer has done with the Minnesota Vikings is nothing short of miraculous. The Minnesota Vikings sit at 5-2 on the year and are in first place in the NFC North. They have struggled of late but that isn’t because of Mike Zimmer. Mike Zimmer has the Vikings in second place in the entire NFC halfway through the season despite injuries from starting quarterback Teddy Bridgewater, starting running back Adrian Peterson, and starting offensive tackles Matt Kalil and Andre Smith. All have all been placed on injured reserve. They have had other numerous injuries that haven’t required placement on the injured reserve list. If the Vikings win the division and get a first round bye, Mike Zimmer deserves the coach of the year award.

Honorable Mention: Jack Del Rio-Oakland Raiders

Offensive Rookie Of The Year: Ezekiel Elliott RB- Dallas Cowboys

(Getty Images)
(Getty Images)

There has not been a rookie running back as good as Ezekiel Elliott since Adrian Peterson took the league by storm in 2007. The Cowboys have one of, if not the best offensive line in football. So many want to discredit some of what Elliott has done because of it, but give the kid credit. Elliott is highly talented and deserves the great year he is having. Elliott leads the NFL in rushing yards at 799. He also has added five touchdowns on the ground. If he keeps this pace up, he will be the first rookie running back to win the rushing title in his first season since Edgerrin James in 1999.

Honorable Mention: Dak Prescott QB-Dallas Cowboys

Defensive Rookie of The Year: Joey Bosa DE- San Diego Chargers


There haven’t been many standouts from first year players on defense this season so far. Joey Bosa is quietly dominating offensive lineman. Bosa missed the first 4 games of the season, but has already made a big impact. It will be interesting to see what he will do for the remainder of the season. Since 2006, no player has pressured the quarterback more in their first three games. In 2011, Jabaal Sheard had 15 quarterback pressures in his first three games, which was the most since 2006. Bosa has had 20 in his first three games. In just four games this season, Bosa has 13 tackles and four sacks.

Honorable Mention: Karl Joesph S-Oakland Raiders

Comeback Player of The Year: DeMarco Murray RB- Tennessee Titans

(AP Photo/Mark Zaleski)
(AP Photo/Mark Zaleski)

This was the easiest award to pick. After last year’s failed experiment in Philadelphia with Chip Kelly, DeMarco Murray is having a fabulous season in Tennessee. Murray is second in the NFL with 756 rushing yards. In the first eight games, he already has 54 more yards than he had all of last season. He is also tied for fourth with six rushing touchdowns. Murray has resurrected his career this season after many believed his best days were behind him. Now everyone is wishing Murray was on their fantasy team.

Honorable Mention: Jordy Nelson WR- Green Bay Packers

Offensive Player of The Year: Matt Ryan QB- Atlanta Falcons


This award would go to Tom Brady if he hadn’t been suspended. This is all about who is putting up the best offensive numbers. Brady would have better numbers had he played the first four games. Matt Ryan has the Falcons atop of the NFC South at 6-3 because of his stellar play. Ryan leads the NFL in passing yards with 2,980. His 23 touchdown passes are also the most in the NFL. If Matt Ryan plays like this the entire season, he will also add his name to the MVP conversation.

Honorable Mention: Tom Brady QB-New England Patriots

Defensive Player of The Year: Marcus Peters DB- Kansas City Chiefs


Defensive Player of the year was the most difficult award to pick because there is not one player who just stands out above the rest. There is not a single player who is doing unbelievable things. With that being said, Marcus Peters is still having a great second season in the NFL. Last year in his first season, he finished tied for first with eight interceptions. So far he has picked up right where he left off and leads the NFL with five interceptions.

Honorable Mention: Lorenzo Alexander LB- Buffalo Bills

Most Valuable Player: Tom Brady QB- New England Patriots 


There is no question on who is the most valuable player in the NFL. Tom Brady looks like a robot or alien from another planet this season. His numbers are straight filthy. Yes, the Patriots were still good and went 3-1 without him, but with him the Patriots look unstoppable. When they have Tom Brady, people have nobody else to pick as the favorites in the AFC. The Patriots look like the best team in the NFL and it is all because of number 12. On the season, Brady has passed for 1,319 yards and 12 touchdowns. He has done all that in just four games and has yet to throw an interception. The Patriots would be good without Brady, but wouldn’t be Super Bowl contenders and AFC favorites.

Honorable Mention: Derek Carr QB-Oakland Raiders


Check out The Game Haus on Social Media! ‘Like’ us on Facebook or ‘Follow’ us on Twitter @The_Game_Haus. “From Our Haus to Yours”

Related posts

AL Playoffs Feature No Front-Runner

Tim Miller

The Lists: Week 10 Edition

The Game Haus Staff

Kobe Bryant Ranked 93rd

Joe DiTullio

Thanks for reading! Let us know what your thoughts are on the article!

Share This