The Game Haus
Home » All You Need to Know About the Cricket T20 Men’s World Cup

All You Need to Know About the Cricket T20 Men’s World Cup

It is a time of the year when all fans go cricket crazy, as the T20 World Cup takes center stage. The most prestigious international event for the short-form game sees all the huge names from around the globe come together for the right to be called the world champions. What should all fans be aware of when it comes to the T20 World Cup this year?

History of T20 World Cup

The first T20 World Cup was staged in 2007, with South Africa hosting the first-ever competition. India ran out winners in that first event, as they beat Pakistan by the slim margin of five runs. Events have taken place around the world since that first event, with England hosting the World Cup in 2009, the West Indies hosting in 2010 and Sri Lanka hosting the event in 2012. The West Indies are the only two-time winners of the event, winning for the first time in 2012.  England, Pakistan and Sri Lanka are the only other winners of the World Cup. Australia are the only nation yet to win the tournament that have reached the final, as they were beaten by England in 2010. The best that South Africa and New Zealand have managed was when they reached the semi-final stage.  The last World Cup took place in 2016, as India hosted the event for the first time. It was to be a record-breaking achievement for the West Indies, as they became the first two-time winners of the event, as they beat England in an exciting final by four wickets.  Virat Kohli was named at the player of the series, but India were knocked out in the semi-final stage by the West Indies as they lost by seven wickets. Tamim Iqbal scored the most runs in the World Cup, while Mohammad Nabi took the most wickets.

When & Where Is the T20 World Cup?

The T20 World Cup for 2021 got underway on October 17th, and the final will be played on November 14th. The competition really heats up when the Super 12 gets underway, as this is the stage of the competition where the big hitters enter the competition. Twelve teams are separated into two groups, with each nation playing the country in their group on one occasion. It is at this stage of the competition when nations such as England, Sri Lanka, India, Australia and New Zealand enter the party.  The knockout stages then get underway on the 10th and 11th November, as the two semi-finals are played. This year’s final will be held at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on November 14th. The T20 World Cup was due to take place in 2020 in Australia, but was moved later to India, The 2021 event was originally meant to take part in India, with the huge crowds that follow cricket. However, the ICC later announced that the United Arab Emirates would pick up the hosting responsibilities due to the COVID-19 pandemic in India.

How to Watch the World T20 Action

Watching the action will be high on the agenda for all fans, as they will be glued to the games throughout the tournament. Tickets can be purchased online for all games that are played throughout the World Cup. However, the most straightforward way to catch the action due to travel restrictions that are still in play would be through streaming.  Fans can live stream on sports betting websites in Arabic throughout the World Cup. Meanwhile, the action will be streamed all around the world with some of the leading broadcasters.  Sky Sports will be providing live action for fans in the United Kingdom, and Star Sports being the home of the action for fans in Asia. 

Who Will Win the T20 World Cup?

It promises to be a very open event throughout, but the betting companies currently have England and India as the two favourites. India have long been the favourites and claimed a warm-up T20 success over England before the Super 12 got underway. England have a lot of quality and are hard to dismiss as they look to build confidence before the start of The Ashes.  Pakistan could also be a nation that are primed to go well in the competition, and could yet sneak top spot in their Super 12 group after beating India in their opening match. Sri Lanka are the defending champions and shouldn’t be ignored, and they could benefit from finishing second if it means avoiding playing India.

1 comment

Everything You Need To Know About the FIFA World Cup 2022 November 8, 2021 at 11:14 am

[…] schedule of international sporting competition is never ending. The T20 cricket tournament is currently underway but many are looking ahead to the biggest football event on the planet. The […]


Thanks for reading! Let us know what your thoughts are on the article!

%d bloggers like this: