The Game Haus
Home » Collegiate Rocket League: Season Two National Championship
Esports Rocket League

Collegiate Rocket League: Season Two National Championship

Collegiate Rocket League Returns

Four teams, all with $75,000 dollars in scholarship prizes on the line. Who will be crowned Collegiate Rocket League Season two champions? The final four teams will face off on December 8th, in the Esports Stadium at Arlington, Texas. The National Championship is the ending point of what has been a memorable year for collegiate esports. This is the first ever Collegiate Rocket League LAN event.

#1 Seed – University of Arizona

Collegiate Rocket League National Championship
Courtesy of UA Esports

The Wildcats from the University of Arizona have had a monstrous season. They become the Western Conference representative for the National Championship. They have shown the Collegiate Rocket League community a period of dominance. Some teams were able to push Arizona to close matches throughout the season, but it was still not enough. Arizona has remained undefeated throughout the regular season, the playoffs, and Conference Clash. The number of blowouts wins is quite high, with a 4-0 drubbing of the University of North Texas in a best-of-seven to secure the first seed. Their year has been amazing, but will they be able to capitalize where it counts?

Collegiate Rocket League National Championship
Courtesy of UNT Esports

#2 Seed – University of North Texas

The second seed heading into the National Championship, the University of North Texas will be the Southern Conference representative. The most improved team in the CRL, North Texas continued to prove doubters wrong. A 5-2 record in the regular season meant that they lost to both LSU and South Florida, but defeated both of these teams in the playoffs to have the higher seed in Conference Clash. Two worrying losses to Arizona meant that the team would have to settle for second. A 3-1 loss and later a 4-0 where the results against Arizona.

Collegiate Rocket League National Championship
Courtesy of PSU Esports

#3 Seed – Pennsylvania State University

The Eastern Conference has been regarded as the weakest ever since CRL’s creation, yet Season One champions Northeastern University were from the Eastern Conference. This year, it is Penn State who will have a shot at becoming National Champions. The free-scoring team has a lot to prove heading into Arlington and their team is ready to make an impact.


Collegiate Rocket League National Championship
Courtesy of Zips Esports

#4 Seed – University of Akron

What a crazy season it has been for the University of Akron. They were not favored to qualify for Conference Clash, let alone make it to the National Championships. Third seed throughout the regular season in the North conference behind favorites the University of Illinois and the University of Waterloo, their perseverance lead them to a sensational run where they eliminated Waterloo and Guelf, then defeated Illinois to take the number one seed from the playoffs. Akron lost their first match in Conference Clash against Penn State but handled work against South Florida to qualify for LAN. They were then defeated in their seeding match against North Texas meaning that they would get the fourth seed.


It is still unclear what bracket will be used during the National Championships, but if we go by regular seeded tournaments, it would end up as first against fourth and second against third.

University of Arizona 3 – 1 University of Akron: The Streak Continues

Heavy favorites, the University of Arizona will do their business and take a 3-1 victory. The Zips from Akron come into this match as underdogs, but their perseverance has already pushed them over strong opponents such as Illinois, Waterloo, and South Florida. They will not be a pushover and will make this match close taking the first match. In the end, Arizona will take the series.

University of North Texas 3 – 2 Pennsylvania State University: Goals and More Goals

In what will be a high scoring affair, two of the most exciting CRL teams from season two will face off. Both of these teams were considered underdogs at some point, yet they proved their doubters wrong. These two teams worked hard for their qualification, and now that they are here, they will give it their best. The University of North Texas will have the crowd behind them as the match will be held in Arlington, Texas. This will propel the team over Penn State in a very tight series.

University of Arizona 4 – 2 University of North Texas: Arizona Win CRL Season Two

This match will be a final to remember. A whole season has lead to this day and the teams are all excited to decide on the new Collegiate Rocket League champion. The best team in CRL against the most improved team in the CRL. The match will be an intense one where the crowd will play a huge part. The intensity from the fans will propel North Texas to an early lead, but the giants from the Western conference will not be phased and will win in the end. This will stamp a final nail into the dominance of Arizona throughout the CRL as they take season two undefeated.


The Collegiate Rocket League National Championships begins on December 8, 2018, at 2:00 PM CST. Tickets are now live Right Here!

Featured Image courtesy of TESPA Compete

You can like The Game Haus on Facebook and follow us on Twitter for more sports and esports articles from other TGH writers along with Jalexis!

Thanks for reading! Let us know what your thoughts are on the article!

Share This