The Game Haus
NHL Sports

NHL Awards Predictions

Hart Trophy

Winner: Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers, C
Runner Up: Auston Matthews, Toronto Maple Leafs, C

The Hart Trophy is awarded annually to the “player judged most valuable to his team” and this year it will go to Connor McDavid. McDavid has been on a whole different level this year, scoring 100 points in 53 games which is by far the most in the league. McDavid and teammate Leon Draisaitl are single-handedly carrying the Oilers to the playoffs. Without McDavid on the OIlers, they would have drastically gotten worse which is why McDavid is deserving of this award.

The runner-up for the Hart Trophy is Auston Matthews who has 40 goals and 65 points in only 50 games which is a very impressive stat line. However, he is still far back from McDavid since Matthews has more help with Mitch Marner, John Tavares, and William Nylander and hasn’t been as dominant compared to McDavid.

James Norris Trophy

Winner: Adam Fox, New York Rangers, RHD
Runner Up: Victor Hedman, Tampa Bay Lightning, LHD

The James Norris Memorial Trophy awarded annually to the top defensemen who “demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position”. This year, the Norris Trophy race was very tight between many defensemen including Adam Fox, Victor Hedman, Cale Makar, Charlie McAvoy, and more. But with Fox leading all defensemen in points with 47 points in 55 games and the impact Fox has on his team, he should be the clear favorite for the Norris Trophy.

Victor Hedman is a close second place with 45 points in 54 games, but with Hedman slowing down during the second half of the season, Fox has overtaken him in the Norris race.

Vezina Trophy

Winner: Andrei Vasilevskiy, Tampa Bay Lightning, G
Runner Up: Marc-Andre Fleury, Vegas Golden Knights, G

The Vezina Trophy is awarded annually to the goaltender who is “adjudged to be the best at this position”. The Vezina Trophy race seems very close stats-wise, but in reality, Vasilevskiy is the frontrunner. Vasilevskiy has been amazing this season, with a record of 31-9-1, save percentage (SV%) of 0.926, and a goals-against average (GAA) of 2.17. Vasilevskiy is one of the key factors in the Lightning’s regular-season success.

Marc-Andre Fleury has had a great season in his own regards with a record of 25-10-0, save percentage (SV%) of 0.927, and a goals-against average (GAA) of 2.17. Fleury’s stats are impressive, but he has a better defense in front of him and hasn’t been as consistent.

Frank J. Selke Trophy

Winner: Aleksander Barkov, Florida Panthers, C
Runner Up: Mark Stone, Vegas Golden Knights, RW

The Frank J. Selke Trophy is awarded annually to the forward who demonstrates the most skill in the defensive component of the game. It is far overdue, but Aleksander Barkov could be claiming his first Selke Trophy. Barkov is considered one of, if not, the most underrated player in the NHL and hasn’t received recognition. Barkov is one of the best two-way forwards in the NHL, and it is showing this year, with Barkov leading his Florida Panthers team to a top 5 record in the league. It looks like Barkov will finally get his recognition this year.

Even though it looks like Barkov is the clear favorite for the Selke Trophy, Stone is making a strong case, being the best defensive winger in the league. However, Barkov’s offensive game and his impact to his team puts him over Stone.

Calder Trophy

Winner: Kirill Kaprizov, Minnesota Wild, LW
Runner Up: Jason Robertson, Dallas Stars, LW

The Calder Memorial Trophy is an annual award given “to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition”. The Calder Trophy is neck and neck between Kirill Kaprizov of the Minnesota Wild and Jason Robertson of the Dallas Stars. Kaprizov was a KHL star who came over from Russia to play in the NHL and is lighting it up in his rookie year with 51 points in 54 games.

Meanwhile, Robertson is an unexpected surprise in the Calder race, with 43 points in 50 games. The Calder Trophy will end up going to Kaprizov since he has more points and is the key factor leading to the Wild’s success.

Related posts

AL Playoffs Feature No Front-Runner

Tim Miller

The Lists: Week 10 Edition

The Game Haus Staff

Kobe Bryant Ranked 93rd

Joe DiTullio

Thanks for reading! Let us know what your thoughts are on the article!

Share This