The Game Haus
NFL Sports

Green Bay Packers:100 Years in the making

Green Bay Packers Beginning

The 2019 season is a significant mark for the Green Bay Packers and it’s history; this year will be their 100th season. It all started in 1919 in Green Bay’s Press-Gazette editorial room, and just two days later a team was created. The team was sponsored by Packing Co. hence how they became the Packers. “Curly” Lambeau, also known as one of the co-founders of the Packers, was their head coach for over three decades. He currently is the winningest coach in Packers history with 209. Lambeau Field was originally known as City Stadium; it was dedicated to Curly on Sept. 29, 1957- just a couple months after his passing.

In 1929, the Packers won their first championship. There was no such thing as the Super Bowl back then, so the team won after finishing in first place. The Packers finished with a 12-0-1 record. Possibly as a result of their first championship, they went on to win four more championship titles in the 1930’s.

Fun fact- when the Packers first started playing, the average price of a ticket was only five dollars.

Also, the Packers were not always green and gold. Originally they were navy blue and gold, similar to the colors Lambeau wore at Notre Dame.

The Vince Lombardi Era

Lombardi joined the Packers as the head coach in 1959. In his decade of coaching, Lombardi would take the Packers to three NFL championships, two playoff bowls (third-place games) and the first two Super Bowls. Bart Starr was the quarterback at the time, he and Lombardi led the Packers to victories in five of six championships.

Lombardi parted ways with the Packers after the 1967 season and became the head coach of the Washington Redskins. Most noteworthy, the Super Bowl Trophy, previously known as World Championship Game Trophy, was renamed in 1970 the Lombardi Trophy. He had an incredible record in championships (5-1) and lead the Packers to victories of Super Bowl I and II. Lombardi died in 1970 due to cancer, but he left behind an everlasting legacy in all of the NFL.

Bart Starr won MVP of both Super Bowls as well as the 1966 NFL MVP award, he came back after retiring as a player to coach the Packers from 1975-1983. Starr’s jersey number, 15, was retired in 1973.

The Common Era

Brett Favre, one of Green Bay’s most prestigious quarterbacks, was apart of the 2017 HOF draft class. Favre was the Packers’ quarterback from 1992-2007. He is ranked second all-time in touchdown passes. The Hall of Famer earned NFL MVP honors three straight years (’95-’97) and led the Packers to a victory in Super Bowl XXXI. Favre’s jersey number was retired in 2015.

Currently, the Packers are coached by Mike McCarthy, who will be entering his 13th season. He is second in line, behind Lambeau, with all-time wins at 121. Aaron Rodgers, arguably one of the best to ever play the game, is entering his 11th year as the starting quarterback. Rodgers has two NFL MVP awards and brought home Super Bowl XLV with McCarthy right by his side. Since becoming the great quarterback/head coach duo in 2008, they have taken the Packers to the playoffs every year except in 2017 season.

Since the beginning, the Packers have sold shares to the people of Green Bay. The team is owned by the residents so they are never able to pick up and move. Because of this, season tickets are very hard to come by. As a result, only about 100 new people each season get to become one.

Green Bay kicks off their 100th season on Sunday, September 9 at 8:30 p.m. at Lambeau Field vs the Chicago Bears.


You can like The Game Haus on Facebook and follow us on Twitter for more sports and esports articles from great TGH writers!

Related posts

AL Playoffs Feature No Front-Runner

Tim Miller

The Lists: Week 10 Edition

The Game Haus Staff

Kobe Bryant Ranked 93rd

Joe DiTullio

Thanks for reading! Let us know what your thoughts are on the article!

Share This