The Game Haus

2021 NL Awards Predictions

2021 NL Award Prediction

After officially entering 2021, it seems like it is time to start making predictions about the next MLB season. One of the best ways to predict how a year will go is to think about who will win what awards. Here are who will win the NL awards during the 2021 MLB season.

MVP- Mookie Betts

Betts came in second for the MVP to Freddie Freeman during 2020. Over the last few years, he has been one of the most consistent stars in the league. If last year was a full season, Betts would have been on pace for 43 home runs and 127 RBIs, while hitting .294. By playing on the most stacked team in the league, Betts should have the opportunity to put up big numbers once again in 2021. Additionally, being in a big market like Los Angeles should provide him with the media recognition needed to win the MVP. He will be the best player on the best team, so theoretically, Betts is the obvious prediction for the NL MVP.

Honorable Mentions: Juan Soto, Fernando Tatis Jr.

Cy Young- Jacob deGrom

2021 NL Award Predictions

Even though the New York Mets have never been good in recent years, deGrom was their one bright spot. He won back to back Cy Youngs in 2018-2019 and came in third in 2020, despite his team’s lack of success. This year, however, is likely to be different, due to the moves the Mets have been making recently. They signed James Mccann and traded for Fransico Lindor and Carlos Carrasco and it doesn’t seem like they are done yet. deGrom’s record was the one reason some voters had concerns about voting for him, but with a good team this year, that should change.

Honorable Mentions: Max Fried, Jack Flaherty 

Manager of the Year- Jayce Tingler 

The Dodgers have had full control of the NL West for each of the last few years. They have not had any major challengers, up until this year. The Padres finished second in the division last year, but have made moves, such as trading for Yu Darvish and Blake Snell, to try to close the gap between them and LA. If the Padres can manage to somehow surpass the Dodgers and win the division, voters will have no option, but to give the Padres the recognition they deserve. That starts with Tingler, as the manager of San Diego, receiving Coach Of The Year for the job he did turning this team around.

Honorable Mentions: Mike Shildt, Luis Rojas

Rookie Of The Year- Ian Anderson

During the first half of the season last year, the Braves lacked starting pitching. Other than Max Fried, they did not have one reliable starter. This all changed once Anderson came onto the scene and helped the Braves greatly. He had a 1.95 ERA in 6 starts and impressed people all around the league. Atlanta is likely to be successful once again, so he will be a focal point of a winning team.  He will only get better with more time in the MLB and have another year of experience.  If he plays like he did last year, there is no reason to believe he won’t win Rookie Of The Year. 

Honorable Mentions: Cristian Pache, Sixto Sanchez


You can “Like” The Game Haus on Facebook and “Follow” us on Twitter for more sports and esports articles from other great TGH writers along with Akshay

“From Our Haus to Yours

Related posts

AL Playoffs Feature No Front-Runner

Tim Miller

Five Reasons To Love Your Bad Team

Robert Hanes

The One Player That Can Save The Reds’ Offseason

Robert Hanes

Thanks for reading! Let us know what your thoughts are on the article!

Share This