The Game Haus
League of Legends

Worlds 2019: Post-Event Awards

Worlds 2019 is over, the champions have been crowned, and the MVP of the finals has been awarded. But the fun isn’t quite over just yet. There are still a few awards left to be given out for players and teams. Some are nice awards to receive as an acknowledgment of what they accomplished this year, other awards, not so much.

Regardless of which award it is, for one last time this year, let’s look back on Worlds 2019 and hand out some awards!

Dade Awards: Mage Bot Lane

Courtesy of: Riot Games

With no clear player that should be awarded the Dade Awards this year, it’s time to switch things up and present it to some champion picks. This time around the Dade Award is going to mages bot lane. 

Despite all the hype for mages in the bot lane for Worlds, they ended up massively underperforming, ending the tournaments 2-13 with wins coming from Kayle and Heimerdinger. While other non-marksmen had some better luck like Yasuo (5-3) and Garen (3-4), it was clear that Worlds quickly became a battle of Xayah and Kai’Sa (with some Ezreal sprinkled in). While this was a small hit to the diversity of bot lane, it’s unlikely this will bring back a marksmen only meta. Of course, everything could change with the preseason.

The Fight Forever Award: G2 Esports vs SK Telecom T1

Courtesy of: LoL Esports Flickr

The Fight Forever award is given to the best and most entertaining series of the tournament. Last year’s winner was the amazing five-game series between KT Rolster and Invictus Gaming in the quarterfinals. This season, the award goes to the semifinals rematch of G2 Esports against SK Telecom T1.

While it wasn’t the results fans of the LCK was hoping for, there is no denying that the semifinal showdown between G2 and SKT was the best series this tournament. While the series ended up going the way of G2 by a score of 3-1, each game could have gone either way. 

With every player playing some of their best League of Legends, it’s a shame fans were unable to get a fifth game. Hopefully, the two teams will face off again in season 10, but for now, this series is the winner of the Fight Forever award.

The TSM “Maybe Next Year” Award: Royal Never Give Up

Courtesy of: LoL Esports Flickr

This award should be pretty self-explanatory. But for those who need an explanation, the TSM “Maybe Next Year” Award goes to a team that came into the tournament looking strong, but ends up usually disappointing and barely misses out on playoffs. As a result, fans begin hoping for a better performance next season (usually ending in a repeat situation). Last year’s award went to Europe’s Team Vitality who looked great with their aggressive play but fell just short in the group stages. This year, the award goes to Royal Never Give Up.

While the hype for Royal Never Give Up coming into the tournament was fairly high, the team ended up disappointing with a group stage exit. While most fans are putting blame on players like Li “Xiaohu” Yuan-Hao, it does put into question if constantly putting the team’s resources into Jian “Uzi” Zi-Hao is effective enough. With rumors that RNG is going to try building around Uzi one last time, next year may be the team’s last chance to make a deep run internationally. Can RNG finally win it next year? Only time will tell.

Tournament MVP: Gao “Tian” Tian-Liang (FunPlus Phoenix)

Courtesy of: LoL Esports Flickr

Is it really a surprise that the Tournament MVP goes to Tian? Along with this Finals MVP, Tian has shown that he has been one of the best players throughout the whole tournament. While Tian was able to excel thanks to his synergy with mid laner Kim “Doinb” Tae-sang, Tian’s performances individually puts him above Doinb for the MVP award.

With huge plays throughout the tournament like his teleport denial on Lee Sin against G2 in the finals, Tian was simply unstoppable. While all of FPX stepped up this tournament, it can be argued that the team likely wouldn’t be able to win it all if it wasn’t for Tian’s play.

And so while he joins another former Young Miracles jungler in Gao “Ning” Zhen-Ning in taking the Finals MVP honor, Tian will also pick up the Tournament MVP honors. 


To watch League of Legends tournaments, visit For more information on the Split, teams, standings, and players, visit Recaps of former weeks and other LoL content can be found at

Featured image courtesy of LoL Esports Flickr.

Follow us

You can like The Game Haus on Facebook and follow us on Twitter for more sports and esports articles

Follow Rui on Twitter @ruixu38 

From Our Haus to Yours.

Related posts

Faith and Friendship – A Pre-Worlds look at CLG

The Game Haus Staff

An Immortal Fallacy: Why IMT isn’t ready for Worlds

The Game Haus Staff

What EDG’s Loss Means for Group C

The Game Haus Staff

Thanks for reading! Let us know what your thoughts are on the article!

Share This