The Game Haus
Home » Path of Exile Ascendancy Guide

Path of Exile Ascendancy Guide

Hey, you new to Path of Exile? 

Hearing all sorts of weird terms being thrown around everywhere, right? Especially ‘Ascendancy’, I’m sure.

Path of Exile’s Ascendancy system is a unique and comprehensive one, which is exactly why our team at SSE Gold has come up with this guide to introduce you to what PoE’s Ascendancy system is all about.

Ready to be enlightened? Then let’s hop right in!

Define Ascendancy

PoE Ascendancy classes are basically subclasses of the existing 7 classes that the player can choose to play as. To define ascendancy, we need to mention the PoE Labyrinth, aka the PoE Lab Trials.

PoE Labyrinth

The PoE Lab Trials culminates in a showdown against the boss Izaro, and is a randomly generated dungeon crawling with puzzles, traps, and monsters. Completing the PoE Lab Trials  for the very first time with a specific character unlocks one of the unique PoE Ascendancy classes that corresponds with the character you’re playing.

After unlocking one of the PoE Ascendancy classes, you also unlock the PoE Ascendancy Skills from the Ascendancy skill tree, points for the skills, and various unique items & equipment enchantments.

Important Tips for PoE Lab Trials

  • To further define Ascendancy and give insight, there exists six PoE Trials of Ascendancy in the PoE Labyrinth. To start the Trials of Ascendancy, one must get in the Sarn Encampment and enter the Aspirant’s Plaza through the Statue of the Goddess. 
  • All the six PoE Trials of Ascendancy in the PoE Labyrinth must be completed in one try with no deaths! Even though during a PoE Labyrinth run, it is paramount that you do not die, you are allowed to attempt the PoE Trials of Ascendancy as many times as you like if you do, however.

  • There are no waypoints in the PoE Labyrinth. If you happen to die, you resurrect in town and PoE Labyrinth run ends. Disconnecting, logging out, or exiting the game will also lead to the end of your current Labyrinth run, having you resurrect in the town of the act they entered from. 

  • You are forbidden from using town portals, and if you do, you will receive a warning message stating that your current PoE Labyrinth run will be abandoned. If you choose to abandon your run, then you are taken to the Act 3 town, regardless of where you started from. 
  • Any items exclusive to the PoE Lab Trials such as keys have to be used in the current Labyrinth. Just like quest items, these cannot be moved to a stash, or traded. Any unused items will be destroyed when leaving the labyrinth.
  • The stash is accessible only before each encounter with Izaro, and within the Ascendancy chamber.

We know that all this can be a lot of information to take in, and not only that, but the PoE Trials of Ascendancy are far from a walk in the park. If you wanted to have an easier time without the grinding, we don’t blame you at all. 

And this is exactly why we at SSEGold do what we do. Being the most trusted online in-game gold seller since 2006, innumerable customers have shopped from us for over a decade and have left with smiling faces each time!

When you find yourself in a pickle and think about getting that extra nudge to cross the finish line, which in this case would be getting that damn Ascendancy, then do not hesitate to reach out to our friendly and helpful team at SSEGold! You can buy Path of Exile currency with low rates and fast delivery!

PoE Ascendancy Skills and Skill Tree 

When you have completed the PoE Trials of Ascendancy,  you unlock the PoE Ascendancy skills within its skill tree. Each Ascendancy has their own unique skill tree; the player will earn Ascendancy skill points that can be spent on allocating nodes that grant passive bonuses.

The Ascendancy skill tree can be found on the regular passive skill tree, in a tab near the character’s starting location.

Ascendancies –  Which should you pick?

There exist 7 character classes with varying playstyles, and each of their ascendancies branch out in their niche playstyles even more. Other than the Scion, who has just 1 Ascendancy, the other 6 characters all possess 3 different Ascendancies to choose from, making the total amount of PoE Ascendancy classes come up to 19!

This certainly doesn’t make your job of choosing any easier, and so below, we will list all of the PoE Ascendancy classes and sum them up briefly so you know what you are getting yourself into.


  • Slayer: An offensive powerhouse with defensive capabilities too. With passives like Bane of Legends and Headsman, he turns into an effective boss killer.
  • Gladiator: A fantastic mix of power, speed, and defenses, the Gladiator may not excel at one aspect, but is a great and reliable all-rounder.
  • Champion: While possessing respectable offenses, the Champion excels as a defensive/supportive class.


  • Assassin: A quick offensive class focused on critical hits and poison DoT.
  • Saboteur: Trades in offense for evasiveness and more speed, while specializing in mines and traps.
  • Trickster: Combining high speed, maneuverability, and paper defenses, the Trickster is a high-risk-high-reward class that is reserved for more advanced players.


  • Juggernaut: Your classic MVP tank class, ’nuff said. 
  • Berserker: An incredibly potent offensive class that trades health for even more power with passives like Rite of Ruin and Aspect of Carnage.
  • Chieftain: Focusing around fire damage and totems, this class also boasts life regeneration and life leech.


  • Deadeye: A long-ranged offensive class focused around projectiles, making use of bows as well as wands.
  • Raider: Centered around increased speed and evasion, the Ranger can further boost damage, speed, and slipperiness with various passives.
  • Pathfinder: A class that centers around the usage of flasks with increased effectiveness.


  • Necromancer: Being an excellent choice for minion-based builds, the Necromancer centers around the consuming and spawning of undead corpses.
  • Elementalist: This class deals in all things elemental, while also increasing the power of elemental ailments even against bosses!
  • Occultist: A class that specializes in Cold and Chaos DoT, as well as curses.


  • Inquisitor: The Inquisitor focuses on enhancing elemental damage as well as crits with passives like Inevitable Judgement and Righteous Providence.
  • Hierophant: Utilizing a large mana pool, the Hierophant mixes non-conventional sources of damage with defense.
  • Guardian: The Guardian is a versatile class able to play the roles of tank, support and well as minion-based.


  • Ascendant: A unique Ascendancy that allows players to select passives from other Ascendancy classes, allowing you to create a truly unique playstyle.

And there you have it, our guide to Path of Exile’s Ascendancy system. Liked our content? Be sure to browse through our website for more!

Thanks for reading! Let us know what your thoughts are on the article!

Share This